What Is Transtheoretical Model Ppt

What is transtheoretical model PPT?

The Transtheoretical Model (TTM) speaks on suggested strategies for public health interventions to address people at various stages of the decision-making process.

What is the transtheoretical model model?

Abstract. The transtheoretical model posits that health behavior change involves progress through six stages of change: precontemplation, contemplation, preparation, action, maintenance, and termination.

What are the 5 constructs of the transtheoretical model?

  • Stage 1: Precontemplation (not ready) …
  • Stage 2: Contemplation (getting ready) …
  • Stage 3: Preparation (ready) …
  • Stage 4: Action (current action) …
  • Stage 5: Maintenance (monitoring) …
  • Relapse (recycling)

What are the 5 stages of change?

  • The Stages of Change. The stages of change are:
  • Stage One: Precontemplation. …
  • Stage Two: Contemplation. …
  • Stage Three: Preparation/Determination. …
  • Stage Four: Action/Willpower. …
  • Stage Five: Maintenance. …
  • Techniques to help you progress through your change plan.

What is transtheoretical model introduction?

The transtheoretical model is a behaviour theory of individual level frequently used for weight management programs. The organisational development theory is a more complicated behaviour theory that applies to behavioural change on the system level.

Why is the transtheoretical model good?

The Transtheoretical Model encourages us to take into consideration an individual’s level of motivational readiness for change when setting physical activity goals and developing an exercise program and avoid suggesting changes that the client will be hesitant to adopt.

Who created transtheoretical model?

PIP: The Transtheoretical Model of Behavior Change (TTM), originally developed by James Prochaska and his colleagues, addresses the psychological mechanisms of changing a health behavior.

What are the 4 stages of change?

The stages are shock, anger, acceptance and commitment. People’s initial reaction to the change will likely be shock or denial as they refuse to accept that change is happening. Once the reality sinks in and people accept the change is happening, they tend to react negatively.

What are the 10 processes of change in the transtheoretical model?

The ten processes of change are consciousness raising, counterconditioning, dramatic relief,environmental reevaluation, helping relationships, reinforcement management, self-liberation,self-reevaluation, social-liberation, and stimulus control. The processes of change are defined in the table below.

What are the major steps in transtheoretical model?

The TTM posits that individuals move through six stages of change: precontemplation, contemplation, preparation, action, maintenance, and termination. Termination was not part of the original model and is less often used in application of stages of change for health-related behaviors.

Is the transtheoretical model a theory?

The transtheoretical model (TTM) (Prochaska et al., 1994, 2002; Prochaska and Velicer, 1997) is a dynamic theory of change based on the assumption that there is a common set of change processes that can be applied across a broad range of health behaviors.

What are the 4 dimensions of TTM?

TTM has four main dimensions: stages of change – 5 stages. processes of change – 10 constructs. decisional balance – 2 constructs.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 × four =

Scroll to Top