What Are The 5 Types Of Trauma

What are the 5 types of trauma?

  • Violent or sexual assault.
  • Life-threatening illness or serious injury.
  • The traumatic loss of a loved one or someone close to you.
  • Witnessing violence.
  • Crime or Accidents.
  • Natural disasters.
  • Childbirth.
  • Suicide attempt.

What are the three 3 different types of trauma?

  • Acute trauma results from a single incident.
  • Chronic trauma is repeated and prolonged such as domestic violence or abuse.
  • Complex trauma is exposure to varied and multiple traumatic events, often of an invasive, interpersonal nature.

What is trauma PDF?

The result of a painful event, physical or mental, causing immediate damage to the body or shock to the mind. Psychological traumas include emotional shocks that have an enduring effect on the personality, such as rejection, divorce, combat experiences, civilian catastrophes, and racial or religious discrimination. 2.

What are examples of trauma?

Types of Traumatic Events Traumatic events may include: Neglect and psychological, physical, or sexual abuse. Natural disasters, terrorism, and community and school violence. Witnessing or experiencing intimate partner violence.

What are the 10 types of trauma?

  • Child physical abuse.
  • Child sexual abuse.
  • Child emotional abuse.
  • Emotional neglect.
  • Physical neglect.
  • Mentally ill, depressed, or suicidal person in the home.
  • Drug addicted or alcoholic family member.
  • Witnessing domestic violence against the mother.

What is trauma and its types?

There are three types of trauma—acute, chronic, or complex. Acute trauma is a single event that caused distress or put you in danger. Acute trauma can include a car accident or a natural disaster. Chronic trauma is repeated exposure to a dangerous or stressful event, such as bullying or domestic violence.

What is type 2 trauma?

Those with Type II trauma, or chronic trauma, typically have additional symptoms like dissociation, self-mutilation, addiction, paranoia, and physical symptoms. As with Type I trauma, the specific Type II trauma symptoms experienced differ by individual.

What is 3 stage of trauma?

In general, there are three phases of trauma treatment: Safety & Stabilization, Processing Trauma and Integration & Connecting with others (this concept was originally described by Pierre Janet, one of the first psychologists to really explore the impact of trauma and dissociation in therapy).

What are the 2 major types of physical trauma?

Physical trauma is a serious injury to the body. Two main types of physical trauma are: Blunt force trauma—when an object or force strikes the body, often causing concussions, deep cuts, or broken bones. Penetrating trauma—when an object pierces the skin or body, usually creating an open wound.

What are the 4 R’s of trauma?

The trauma-informed approach is guided four assumptions, known as the “Four R’s”: Realization about trauma and how it can affect people and groups, recognizing the signs of trauma, having a system which can respond to trauma, and resisting re-traumatization.

What is trauma?

Trauma is an emotional response to a terrible event like an accident, rape, or natural disaster. Immediately after the event, shock and denial are typical. Longer term reactions include unpredictable emotions, flashbacks, strained relationships, and even physical symptoms like headaches or nausea.

What are the 4 core traumas?

As mentioned above, the four types of trauma responses are: fight, flight, freeze or fawn. You may have one or more of them at different times and under different circumstances: The flight response can be defined as getting away from the situation as quickly as possible.

What are the 6 stages of trauma?

The Six Stage Trauma Integration Roadmap provides a clear conceptual framework for understanding and responding to trauma. The ETI approach helps survivors describe their experience in stages of: 1-Routine, 2-Event, 3-Withdrawal, 4-Awareness, 5-Action, 6-Integration.

What are the 7 domains of trauma?

A comprehensive review of the litera- ture on complex trauma suggests seven primary domains of impairment ob- served in exposed children: attachment, biology, affect regulation, dissociation (ie, alterations in consciousness), behav- ioral regulation, cognition, and self-con- cept.

What are 5 causes of trauma?

  • serious accidents.
  • physical or sexual assault.
  • abuse, including childhood or domestic abuse.
  • exposure to traumatic events at work, including remote exposure.
  • serious health problems, such as being admitted to intensive care.
  • childbirth experiences, such as losing a baby.

What are the 6 C’s trauma?

The Six Cs is an acronym that represents the model’s six intervention principles: Communication, Commitment, Cognition, Continuity, Control and Challenge.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 × five =

Scroll to Top